Members who are most active on the site keep their profile visible in all places because it increases their chances of connecting with people.
If you don't want your profile to show up in Members Online, Hot Lists or Search, you can go to Profile Display Settings in Member Services and hide your profile. You will still be able to use the site and browse through members anonymously. Just remember, someone special may be looking for you and will never get to find you if your profile is hidden. If you hide your profile from showing up in Members Online, searches, Your Matches or You Got a Click! lists, members can still see your profile when you email, instant message or flirt with them. They can look up your profile with your username, member number through a "send to friend" link, on the "Searching for You?" page, through Keyword Search or in the Photo Gallery Search.
If you would like to take a break from online personals, you may remove your profile by selecting Remove My Profile in Member Services. When you are ready to reactivate your profile, simply log in and click Unsuspend.